New Commentator

Social networks and online communities definition and references

Hi all,

I am doing my PhD thesis and was using Michael Wu's blog post from 2011 on the differences between social network and online communities where he wrote that there are 2 types of social media: social networks and online communities. Does anyone know which references I could use to document this? Thanks!

Jonathan

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES
Hero
Community Management
Expert
Analytics
Expert

Re: Social networks and online communities definition and references

I think we've seen things unfold a bit more in the last 5 years. Here's what the landscape looks like to me today:

• Social Networks - The places you go to consume and engage with people you know (Facebook, Snapchat)
  • Interest-based Networks - The places you go to consume and engage with topics of interest (YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest)
  • Professional Networks - The places you go to to consume and engage with co-workers and industry content (LinkedIn)

"Community" has largely become an umbrella term that covers the gamut and is used interchangeably with the word "Network" by many people.

Message 2 of 4
New Commentator

Thanks, Brian. Are there academic papers that I can reference as well? I have been noticing the shift in how people have been referring to both terms but cannot pin down a reference that I could use to document it. Thanks for your reply!
Message 3 of 4
Highlighted
Lithium Guru
Gamification
Expert
Data Science
Expert

Hello @jjsgva,

Thank you for asking, and my apology for the much-delayed reply.

And thanks, @RobbL, for bring my attention to this inquiry.

So let me try to address the question between the difference between community and social networks.